Metro by the Numbers: 1 - 14
January 3, 2015

Five years ago, we engaged in ultimate Metro nerdiness: deciding the best player to wear each jersey number. Well, an update is needed!

  • #1: Tony Meola, 1996-98, 2005-06
    Strangely, only six players have wore #1 in Metro history, and the last unquestionable starter to do so was Jonny Walker back in 2004. Meola gets the nod over Mike Ammann and Walker.

  • #2: Teemu Tainio, 2011
    Tainio only wore #2 in his first year, switching to #6 for 2012. But he was such a key player in 2011, that we give it to him over Ricardo Clark. Clark was good as a rookie in 2003, but pedestrian in his second and last Metro season.

  • #3: Heath Pearce, 2012-13
    Pearce gets it over Mark Semioli, who was our choice at this slot five years ago. Still, this is clearly a place we can upgrade. You're hearing that, Ambroise Oyongo?

  • #4: Jamison Olave, 2013-14
    Our first very, very tough call. Carlos Mendes played five and a half solid seasons with #4, before giving it up to Rafa Marquez (who will NEVER be a part of this conversation). But Olave's two seasons are arguably the best back-to-back seasons for a Metro defender. Besides, we just named him to our All-Time XI.

  • #5: Steve Jolley, 2000-03, 2006
    Tim Ream and Markus Holgersson could both lay claim to this spot, but we have to go with Jolley. He bled the colors, after all.

  • #6: Seth Stammler, 2004-10
    No competition here. Seven seasons for Stammler, playing every position on the field.

  • #7: Roberto Donadoni, 1996-97
    With apologies to Mark Chung, Mike Magee, and Roy Miller, this one is a no-brainer.

  • #8: Mark Lisi, 2002-06
    We liked what Jan Gunnar Solli brought, and Peguy Luyindula is our newly-minted hero, but Lisi's staying power puts him on top.

  • #9: Juan Pablo Angel, 2007-10
    #9 has been worn by more players than any other number: 18. And what players they were: Marcelo Vega, Alex Comas, Gilmar, Jaime Moreno, Sergio Galvan Rey, Sebastien Le Toux... Oh, and the one and only Cherubic Assassin.

  • #10: Youri Djorkaeff, 2005-06
    We'll take Djorkaeff's magical 2005 over anything Tab Ramos produced. Lloyd Sam might have a chance here if he keeps it up.

  • #11: Dave van den Bergh, 2007-08
    Dave or Dax? Van den Bergh, the best crosser of the ball in team history, also scored the club's most important goal, in the 2008 semifinal. McCarty has been the heart and soul of the team since coming over in the middle of 2011. We'll go with van den Bergh... for now.

  • #12: Mike Petke, 1998-2002, 2009-10

  • #13: Clint Mathis, 2000-03, 2007
    Keep it going.

  • #14: Thierry Henry, 2010-14
    We miss you already, Titi.

  • •  News Archive
    •  Rumor Mill
    •  Weekly Awards
    •  Season Ratings
    •  Last Game Ratings

    •  History Overview
    •  All-Time Roster
    •  All-Time Results
    •  All-Time Stats
    •  Team Records
    •  Hall of Fame
    •  All-Time XI
    •  Numeric Roster
    •  International Roster
    •  Coaching History
    •  Captain History
    •  Draft History
    •  Trophy Case
    •  Transfer Records
    •  Frivolities
    •  Honors History
    •  Award History
    •  Ratings History

    Home · Team · News · History · Boards · Stuff · About